Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Sales Pitch & Friday Five

Friday, Sept. 28, 2007 - 12:31 a.m.

This strange thing keeps happening to me when I watch television.

Whenever I remember to tune in to an episode of 'Good Times', early in the morning on TVLand, it always seems to be a block of episodes that contain the one featuring the character of 'Fishbone.'

This isn't exactly terrible, since Fishbone is played by Robert Guillaume, but it's weird.

Weirder: I never did watch an episode of The X Files during its first run, but the three times I happened across an episode of it in syndication, it was the same one.

Weirdest Of All: The X Files episode I've seen three times is the one called "Monday" -- in which the characters are caught in a time loop.

---

So I get an email from a friend of mine that I've known and adored for twenty years, since my Chico days.

He and I went in different directions; he ended up spawning and living in a hippie haven up in the foothills, and I of course came here to San Francisco to be with John.

We're sporadically in touch via the web and so forth -- and I just got an email from him telling me his son was selling fundraiser popcorn.

It wasn't pushy, and I know he sent it to a bunch of people.

But... shouldn't the CHILD be selling me this stuff?

I almost wrote back and said "Dear [Friend] -- Here is my telephone number. Your son is invited to call me and attempt to sell me these items himself, during normal business hours."

My parents would NEVER have done such a thing when *I* was selling fundraising items. I depended on my own guile and shoe-leather to do things like this, and maybe I wasn't the best sales person, but I didn't have any kind of life support attached to my endeavors. When I was a kid, my parents said that if they had gone around asking their friends to buy things from me, it would be just the same as them doing my homework.

So, I don't know about this. I like my friend, and his son is amazing and I appreciate the fact that the profits will be used for scout stuff and charities and so forth in their own city.

But I.. I just... have to think about this one, I guess.

I'm not sure I'm actually angry at this -- but I reserve the RIGHT to be.

---

Okay, Friday Five. This is one of the sets that I submitted that hasn't gotten used yet:

Do you have a favorite...

... meal?
Yes. Biscuits and white gravy as done by my grandmother, who passed in the fall of 2003. As for these days, probably my homemade hamburgers with french fries.

... CD to listen to while travelling?
Angel With A Lariat by k.d. lang.

... pair of shoes?
Yes. Sitting in the suitcase from the last time i travelled.

... photograph of yourself?
Yup. Right here. It was a good hair day.

... quote?
Tie:
"Always go too far because that's where you'll find the truth." -- Albert Camus
"Be bold, and mighty forces will come to your aid" -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Link is to the left if you want to find other memes to play, or if you wanna see the current incarnation of Friday Five.

---

All rightie. Tonight, we're going to go find a new showerhead.. We only need a new one about every six years or so, so it has amortized.

San Francisco tap water from our neighborhood always eventually leaves an orange cast to everything it touches, because it's been traveling through terracotta pipes that are nearly the same color as the Golden Gate Bridge, and that uberfine silt rides up into our sinks and tubs.

The showerhead has lots of nice orange buildup around its spray holes.

---

Have a good Friday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.