Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

End Of Year Meme

Saturday, Jan. 10, 2009 - 9:11 a.m.

I had mumbled something earlier about an end-of-year list of bests and worsts.

As of right now, I haven't done it yet, and as I've stopped to think about it, I really didn't have an opinion one way or another about most things in popular culture anyway, at least nothing worth repeating again in an end-of-year list.

So instead, I've filled out the meme that's been going around.

I think I got this from Jamie, Thanks, love!

If you wanna take it for your own use, go ahead.

What did you do in 2008 that you�ve never done before?
Got fitted for glasses. Read and actually comprehend and offer feedback on a libretto. (Thanks, Andy!!)

Did you keep your New Year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I never make them.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope

Did anyone close to you die?
Uncle Charles, but I hadn't seen him in five years.

What countries did you visit?
Just this one

What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008
A decent haircut.

What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
November 4th. Duh.

What�s your biggest achievement of the year?
Learning the horrifically non-intuitive Pages program that comes with iWorks.

What was your biggest failure?
Trusting the wrong people. But as failures go, that's one I'm strangely proud of.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Both, thanks.

What�s the best thing you bought?
Protective leather covers for my electronics.

Whose behavior merited celebration?
John's, for not killing me.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Heh. Too many too list.

Where did most of your money go?
Soapcarving scholarships for needy Quebecois.

What did you get really, really excited about?
Political humor, and advances in medicine.

What song will always remind you of 2008?
Tie: "The Adventure" by Angels and Airwaves and "Angels on the Moon" by Thriving Ivory

Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Richer or poorer? Thinner or fatter?
Yeah.

What do you wish you�d done more of?
Oh, filling out memes, of course. :-P

What do you wish you�d done less of?
Worrying about things that weren't worth worrying about.

How did you spend Christmas?
I had a head cold and spread germs at my in-laws.

Did you fall in love in 2008?
I renewed some old friendships, but I don't think that counts.

What was your favorite TV program?
General Hospital. I began watching it again.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?
Heh. Oh yeah.

What did you want and get?
A real Nano

What did you want and not get?
An explanation from somebody whose behavior mystified me enough to ask what the fuck was going on.

What was your favorite film of this year?
Don't make me choose. The most recent movies I watched were on DVD. Once. Wall E. Ironman.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was packing for a trip within a trip, and what the fuck am I, a car?

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I wish I could have made everybody who voted yes on Proposition 8 ashamed to have done so.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2008?
Pajamas all day unless I'm going somewhere.

What kept you sane?
You're looking at it.

What celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I didn't pay too much attention to any of them.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Duh!

Who did you miss?
I missed my parents. And I was sorry about Heath Ledger.

Who was the best new person you met?
It was nice to meet Art and Andy in person; I also met Old Buddy Dave's brother John.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
Don't check the flaps of a steamer bag with your bare fingers.

---

That's it! Have a good Saturday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.