Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Migraine and SMILE

Sunday, Feb. 22, 2004 - 9:30 a.m.

I took a nap around two in the afternoon yesterday, and when I wope up at five, things seemed wrong.

I don't know how else to describe how I felt.

I had a killer headache that was so painful it was making me nauseated. I'd originally planned to cook dinner -- szechuan steak with vegetables -- but I was in too much pain. Light and noise were bothering me. At one point I asked John to rub my neck. It didn't alleviate the pain. So I begged off and took four aspirin and a glass of water and just opted to sit quietly and get some online work done. I remember interacting with Dave Marron, and I think I read my Buddy List on Diaryland, but that's it. Finally at around a quarter after six, I had John rub my neck, but to no avail. I gave up and I went to bed. My eyes felt like they were going to fall out, and all I wanted to do was make the pain go away.

At seven thirty, I got up and headed to the bathroom and vomited.

I was having a full blown migraine headache. I hadn't had one of those in many years.

At around eight, we called the advice nurse at Kaiser, and she asked a bunch of questions about my symptoms. Sure enough, it was a migraine. The nurse forbade me to take painkillers overnight, because John needed to observe me without any meds, but I had a cold compress on my neck and forehead. I took a cherry Tums around nine becuase my stomach was nauseated, but unfortunately it came right back up.

Finally the discomfort became bearable around eleven, and I was able to sit up and quietly drink a cup of chamomile tea. I chatted with my Diet Guy at about that time, and we discussed the possibility of the fact that the vomiting may have been somewhat my fault for not paying enough attention to what I was doing when I was preparing the cashew chicken the night before. Usually I'm very good about wiping my surfaces and tossing the cutlery in the hot water after it's been used once, but being the ditz that I am, I was on the telephone with somebody, so I might not have been as thorough as I could have been. The last time I was on the phone with somebody in the kitchen, I was attacked by meatloaf last October, which became the first Blister Watch. I'm not up to Salmonella Watch, believe me!...

Anyway, at last, I slept through part of the night -- I remember waking up at three and taking a goodly size glass of water then coming back to bed.

At eight this morning, I woke up and felt just fine. So far, two crackers have stayed down, and I'm sipping cool water.

Anyway, it's been a really long time since I had a migraine -- and between you and me and the walls? I don't want to have one again.

Today I seem okay so far.

---

In other news, I can't believe the headline that was waiting for me this morning.

SMILE premiered in London.

If that doesn't ring a bell for anybody under my age, that's fine.

SMILE was the Beach Boys' lost masterpiece, to have been a followup to PET SOUNDS. It got shelved for one reason and another, and didn't get finished until now.

The critics claim it's worth the wait.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.