Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Veterans' Day 2007

Sunday, Nov. 11, 2007 - 12:10 a.m.

PoppyIn honor of Remembrance Day, and Veteran's Day, thank you to everybody who served in our military.

To Emily, who is still out in the sand.

To Art, who loved this country enough to serve and become a citizen.

To my Dad, who was very proud of the fact that while he was in the USMC, and stationed in Southern California for the entirety of his service, the enemy never got further north than Escondido. Heh.

To Uncle Joe, who, if he'd been honest with the draft board, wouldn't have been allowed to serve during World War II but went and did it anyway, just like many thousands of other closeted-for-life homosexuals.

To Bob Chance, whose stories about *his* service made me think I was sitting near my father again.

Thank you all. Forever and ever.

---

We decided to take Saturday off from low-carb, and after waffles for breakfast, chocolate for lunch, and turkey with mashed potatoes and stuffing for dinner, we succeeded in being carbsmacked to an extreme degree.

But we lost eight pounds in a week, so it's imperative that we climb back on the hobbyhorse and seriously consider whether we want to take the next Saturday off from low-carb. It remains to be seen how we'll feel later this morning when we wake up again.

---

Received an excellent response from Toren Smith about the oil slick left by the ship:

Just wanted to point out that SF Bay contains approx. 3.5 trillion gallons of water. Which means the oil is...uh...my Windows calculator doesn't have enough decimal places to calculate the percentage of oil contamination. It's really, really small, anyway.

IMHO, the best thing we could do is back off and let nature take care of it. History shows that works remarkably well, whereas hysterical cleanup efforts generally end poorly (see the results from Exxon Valdez where areas left alone recovered in a couple of years and areas cleaned were still recovering after nearly a decade). Speaking of the Valdez, I find it heartening that our last major oil spill occurred nearly 20 years ago. Considering the staggering amount of oil moved by tanker, this is actually pretty damned impressive.

Don't get me wrong, here--an oil spill even of this small size is a Bad Thing. But hyperventilation is to no one's benefit. Spending tens of millions on a pointless cleanup effort is a waste of funds that could be better used for other environmental purposes. To be blunt, there are a LOT of seagulls out there. I fail to see why we should spent $15,000 a bird to save a few dozen soaked with oil. Harsh? Maybe. But realistic.

Never forget Mother Nature doesn't care where she puts oil reefs. There's one off Santa Barbara which leaks more oil in a year than the Torrey Canyon. "But it's all natural!" Yeah, but it's still oil.

Just sayin' is all.

--Toren

For some strange reason, some news agencies out there actually reported this as a spill of heating oil that was massive enough to possibly affect prices this winter. Nope. A complete crock, that.

Thanks, Toren!

---

One more thing...

There's a good "Photoshop This..." thread over on FARK, so go enjoy it.

---

Okay, done. Have a good Sunday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.